charlie's song

Showers of Blessings

8 Comments

Dear friends and family (and well, all of the wonderful strangers who wrote us today)….

We are absolutely overwhelmed by your prayers and generosity. I was honestly not expecting the incredible outpouring of love we received today. I was mostly just asking for prayer for my cancer bloodwork as we endured this long wait.

So let’s start there. The cancer doctor called while I was standing in line at TJ Maxx. I was in the middle of trying to buy Emma a new backpack, but decided that that moment was as good as any to get the worst news of your life.

And…the doctor said that it does not look like I have cancer at this time. My immune system is deeply compromised and I am in grave danger of getting very sick, very fast but I do not have cancer today.

I was just SO happy. My kids were so happy. Everyone standing in line with me at TJ Maxx was so happy.

As I’ve spent the last two weeks trying to settle into our new home… every moment of every day I have wondered if I am really setting up this house for them because I was leaving soon to be with our other babies. I have been so miserably sick and it is such a relief to know that for today, I am here…and for today I am cancer free.

So thank you so very much for your prayers with us and for us as we waited for that call today.

We also wanted to thank you for your incredible offers to help us in so many different ways. Our friends have actually started a fund on our behalf to help offset the cost of some of the new things we will need, as well as our upcoming treatment and medical expenses. If you feel led to give please visit the site they created at the website youcaring.com. Just enter “Rain Blessings On the Zeller’s” under “Find a Fundraiser.”

Years ago when I was in college, a professor came to speak on our dorm floor one night. During the Q & A time I asked him a question and his answer deeply impacted my life. I said, “A friend of mine told me the other day that he doesn’t talk to girls about God because he’s afraid they’ll end up liking him. What do you think about that theory?” The professor simply shook his head and said very quietly, “What…a pity. We have been given to one another to get through this life.”

I think about that professors words almost every day. Especially in these recent days when simply “getting through” this painful life has taken literally everything I have in me.

Today, as total strangers reached out to us and asked how they could help, it was such a tangible reminder of my professors words. As our pastor walked into our kitchen with huge bags filled with new towels and pillows and toys for the kids we were reminded yet again of what an incredible privilege it is to be a part of the body of Christ. And as our pastor left and Emma turned to me and said, “Mommy, why did he bring us all those nice things?” It was so easy to tell her as the tears streamed, “Because sweetie, we’ve been given to one another to get through this life.”

Thank you so very much for your prayers and generous offers to help. It is a difficult life to get through, but we have been deeply reminded today of the the love of the One who waits for us at the end of it. And of the people we walk beside along the way.

With love and deep gratitude,

Misty

8 thoughts on “Showers of Blessings

  1. So glad you don’t have cancer. God is good.~

    Vivian Jeffrey 612 741 4422 “Live simply so others can simply live.” “If God leads us to it, God will lead us through it.” “At the end of the night, before you close your eyes, be content with what you’ve done and be proud of who you are and Whose you are.”

    Date: Wed, 19 Feb 2014 05:53:52 +0000 To: vwjeffrey@msn.com

  2. I was reading the story of Jairus in Luke today. Imagine the crushing moment when he was told that they needn’t trouble the Rabbi. I wonder sometimes why Jesus has us wait and why sometimes when we touch the hem of his garment we are healed. I thank God for your health. The faculty of Moody are praying for you. I am just one of them.

    You may find my wife’s writing about faith, infertility, suffering, brokenness, etc. parallels your walk in some ways https://thisoddhouse.org

    God Bless,

    Peter Worrall (MBI)

  3. Oh Mist, what relief! Rejoicing at the good news from the doctor! You don’t have cancer! A bright spot in the midst of all the darkness. Alleluia!
    I love you!

  4. Reid, Misty and kids,

    Let me know if there is anything I can do, or if you just need to talk. I’ve just finished my chemo and my CA125 count is nice and low. It’s not easy to hear that you have cancer, but prayers of many people got me through it and God’s grace was visible every day. Praying for all of you daily.

    Love,

    Patricia

  5. Many of us are praying for you from Davis, CA. Your post went viral through our local church’s college group and touched the hearts of many of our students. Don’t understand why God allows these hard times but know that sometimes all that’s left is for us to cling to him. His mercy and grace will see you through this. Love, Melanie

  6. praying for you from vegas. praising Him tonight that you don’t have cancer!

  7. Hi Misty!
    I´m crying here with your story and courage and faith! Please, please, please keep going! And keep inspiring people along the way!
    I´m still crying here… in Brazil (!!!)… during my working time… go figure!
    God has unusual ways to touch us…

    Kisses and blessings.
    Mirys – http://www.umabaguncadeliciosa.blogspot.com

    PS: I found your story (and start reading alllllllll your blog) because of Ashley (from Under the Sycamore). I´m so glad she wrote about you…

  8. PS2: I´ll keep praying for you! In Portuguese! See how HUGE God is?

Leave a Reply

