charlie's song

Charlie’s Song

3 Comments

Over the next few days, weeks, years, who knows really…I will be sharing more about our sweet Charlie’s story, but for now I want to share why we are calling this Charlie’s song.

No words can fully express the sorrow we have felt in the last seven days.  But there are some words in my heart, and for the first time in my life as a mother… taking the time to share them is one of the only ways I can love my precious baby.  I’d rather be holding him.  I’d rather be sleep-deprived, and angry about nursing, and overwhelmed at four kids and new motherhood… but one of the only ways we can love our 4th born son is by honoring his story and sharing the story God chose to write for our little Charlie.  Please read it.  Please remember his precious life.  Please know Jesus and His love more through him, and all that God is teaching us through loving our sweet Charlie James.

I think about how Paul says to the Corinthians in 2 Cor. 3:2, “You yourselves are our letter, written on our hearts, known and read by everyone.”  And being precious, made by God, formed in my womb, and known and loved by Him…I really believe our little Charlie is as much a letter from God, written to make known God’s love for the world…just as much as you and me.

But as I was thinking about little boys, I was thinking how much they are NOT writers.  For the first part of boyhood, they can’t write.  For the rest of boyhood, most of them are forced to against their wills by well-meaning schools.  Little boys don’t want to be writing…they want to be playing in the mud, splashing in puddles, singing in the sun.   And so…here is our little Charlie’s song.  Written on our hearts.  May it be known and read by everyone.  And may reading it…change forever how you see our precious Savior…the one who is holding our sweet Charlie today.  The One who is singing to him, even as He continues to write our Charlie’s Song.

With love and tears, ever desperate for your prayers,

Misty

Image

3 thoughts on “Charlie’s Song

  1. Hi Misty,
    I came across your blog through our mutual friend, Tabitha. Beautiful writing and a beautiful photo of your son. My heart breaks for your loss. I have 4 little boys of my own, and I cannot imagine the grief in your heart. I have never known the loss of a child, but a dear friend of mine has and I can tell you that the impact of her 1 year old on the world is astounding. Story after story of God’s using his short life and death in the lives of people around the world. Charlie had and has purpose. Of that you can be confident! My love and prayers to you, your husband, your children, and your family. –Dalaina

  2. Thank you for sharing his sweet face. Thank you for sharing your hearts with all of us. I truly feel like I am falling more in love with Jesus as I watch you and Reid love Jesus through this loss…

  3. I too came across your blog through a friend’s daughter, Lindsay Koch. I am so sorry for your loss! Charlie is special, touching more lives than he ever knew. The words you wrote in the 2 blogs I read were Holy Spirit directed and meant for me to see. Thank you, God Bless you and comfort you and keep you and your family in His care. Thank you Charlie.

Leave a Reply

